top of page
  • Writer's pictureJamie Andersen Fields

Sacrifice

Do not make an idolator of me There was a temple between us A temple bound in blood And you offered it sweet meats Under the moon, ripe fruit In the Sun and you said I was free to take it And on dark nights You fed the gods refuse And it was my fault the rain Did not come and it was my fault For eating the softer fruit And it was my fault For not mounting the stones And it was my fault For not offering myself to the gods Like a pot of nectarines or almonds As if it was not the fire I would be feeding As if it was not you who would be warm If I owe them I owe them sown from soil And if I owe them I owe them sweat not blood If I am to be the fire then you have fed me refuse If I am to be the fire then you have fed me nectarines and almonds If I am to be the fire then I will eat myself to ashes I will leave nothing for the gods, And they will leave nothing For you

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

sonnets to my cerebellum

i. i lie in bed for hours, imagine fish- soft bodies writhing weightless, water bound but fluid, flowing water, boundless abyss enriches, holds them gently, never drowns imagine this is us! imagine ho

Partial

This Phoenix is done rising as if it exists only a s(u/o)n in context Of Mother Earth, Gaia beating her hands On linen left wet too long before the dryer Mildew blooming in flax stood stiff reachin

Coping Mechanisms

When I get overwhelmed, I organize. Pull everything out and put it back better until the dull flighty hum in my body is replaced with the ache of all the things I’ve moved. January I’m Atlas, playing

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page